Problems with Kindle Question – POTCERT11

Hi Everyone!

I read our text book and other books on my Kindle 2. When the syllabus instructed me to stop at page 125 I realized that the Kindle does not give me page numbers, only location numbers something like this (2348 of 3456). Not very useful at all. I then discovered on the Kindle discussion boards many students and others very disappointed with Amazon’s lack of response to providing a remedy for this problem. This was particularly a problem for the masters and doctoral candidates who were attempting to cite their sources properly in theses and dissertations. Yikes! 😦

Seems like a serious problem for academe. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to solve this problem other than purchasing a new e-reader?

9 thoughts on “Problems with Kindle Question – POTCERT11

  1. mfarnam says:

    I am glad you shared this with us. I was going to update my really old Kindle. Perhaps now I will go with the Nook.

  2. 😦 Oh no! Hope you resolve this situation soon.
    I’m sorry… Hopefully our knowledgeable team will have an answer for you!

  3. michelle1908 says:

    I thought this was a problem too until I realized I didn’t know how to use my Kindle 🙂

    You can find any page for the textbook by clicking the Menu button > Go to… > type the page number > click on “page”

    This will take you where you want to go. I’ve added bookmarks for the last page of this week’s reading assignments so I know when I’m there.

    Also, if you click Menu on any page, you’ll see the page number at the bottom as well as the location.

    It took me a minute to realize all of these features were there. I hope this helps!

    • jproppe says:

      Nice try, but no dice. I’m not sure which version of the Kindle you have, but I have a Kindle 2 and I am pretty familiar with it. The “go to” function only gives “cover”, “table of contents”, “beginning”, or “location”. Pushing the menu does not show any page numbers, only location numbers (useless). There are many comments on the Amazon Kindle site under “discussions” (type in “no page numbers for kindle 2”) regarding this chronic problem. It is not a case of operator error. 😦

  4. Ted Major says:

    Still haven’t bought an ereader (but probably will soon), so thanks for pointing out this issue.

  5. Hi! I think it would be good if in the assignment’s posts, Lisa or Tim can say as I saw in the last one: read to page 125 up to the _________ heading, Then we all know where should we stop.

    • jproppe says:

      Hi Denise,
      Lisa is already on top of that. She said she revised the syllabus to show a heading. They are great at providing support aren’t they?

  6. michelle1908 says:

    I’m sorry to hear that your doesn’t have that feature 😦 Mine is newer; I just received it as a gift in July.

Leave a Reply

